Meet the Board

The Society is served by a dedicated Board of Directors, elected by and from the general membership at the Annual General Meeting. All are volunteers.

Interested in joining the board? Please click here!


Sharon Daly

Sharon Daly


Sharon has a Master’s degree in environmental planning with many years of work experience in government and private consulting. She has also owned a successful yoga studio and yoga therapy practice.

Sharon is interested in helping reshape understanding of the human-nature relationship and working collaboratively with others to ensure urban ecosystems are healthy and life sustaining now and in the future. Sharon joined the Board in October 2020 and has been Board Chair since May 2022. She is an avid cyclist, hiker, fitness enthusiast, nature lover and regenerative gardener.

IMG_3088 (002).JPG

Doug Enns


Doug Enns FCPA is a semi-retired management consultant whose career has included leadership positions in banking, finance and info-tech.  He has served on a number of boards and is a Chartered Director.

Doug and his wife have been great fans of the Nature Sanctuary over the years and he is hopeful he can contribute to its continued success as a member of the Board of Directors.

Doug believes that Swan Lake Christmas Hill Nature Sanctuary provides a compelling example of ecological sustainability in action, both as an amenity for residents of Saanich and beyond to enjoy, and learn through its educational programming.

Lynn 2020 (2)

Lynn Young


Lynn is now retired from a career as Educator and Executive Director at a non-profit Early Learning Centre in Saanich. She is passionate about connecting children, families and all members of society with nature. Before retiring she laid the groundwork for the expansion and opening of a Nature Preschool. Lynn has a keen interest in protecting the environment and creating gardens that include native plantings that attract and support birds, pollinators and other wildlife.

Lynn joined the Board in October 2020 and has been Board Secretary and Governance Chair since June 2022. She is grateful for the opportunity to contribute to an organization that supports education, restoration and stewardship of the Nature Sanctuary lands.


Pablo Melo


Pablo Melo pursued a BSc in Applied Ecology, leading to work as a Naturalist Guide in two of the top 10 eco-lodges within the Amazon Basin. Interestingly, both lodges incorporated significant Indigenous worldviews and practices into the client experience, providing Pablo with insights into Indigenous strengths and needs.

After gaining experience in non-profit organizations, he transitioned to the for-profit sector and founded his own green company, inspiring him to get more knowledge by studying for a Master of Business Administration.

Pablo's key skills include strategic planning, product design, and business development. He is committed to advocacy and responsible actions to accelerate the growth of the environmental sector for a healthy and sustainable future.


Sharlot Beatty


Sharlot is a Training and Development Specialist with over 10 years of experience. She has worked for several local not-for-profit organizations including the Vancouver Island Construction Association, Beacon Community Services, Worklink and the Cool Aid Society. She is extroverted, creative and prioritizes fun. Sharlot is motivated by helping others define and reach their goals. She has a deep love of and respect for the natural world and is excited about the opportunity to contribute to its preservation and protection through her efforts as a board member.

Jim Cuthbert

Jim Cuthbert


Jim serves as the representative from the Victoria Natural History Society’s Board of Directors. He is a registered professional consulting biologist (MSc), environmental conservation activist and outdoor activity enthusiast with a strong attachment to the Nature Sanctuary.

His career has been varied, primarily helping to manage protected areas, including national, provincial and municipal parks. Jim has extensive experience volunteering on non-profit community service boards, including the award-winning Parkgate Community Services Society, and as an elected North Vancouver District councilor for seven years where he contributed to the award-winning environmental management bylaw.

Director Rick Marshall

Rick Marshall


As a Director, Rick is pleased to volunteer his time, energy and ideas to support the Nature Sanctuary’s mission to foster community understanding and appreciation of nature and provide an urban sanctuary bringing people and nature together. Rick has served on several non-profit Boards besides a career in public service. He is interested in natural areas conservation in our community and has gotten his hands and knees very dirty in that pursuit.